Ottoline and the Yellow Cat

Author:  Chris Riddell

Review by: Rhiannon

Year Group: Year 5

Review:

Ottoline and the Yellow Cat is the first of four books written and illustrated by the fantastic Chris Riddle.

Ottoline lives on the 24th floor of the Pepper Pot Building and she lived in Apartment 243 with Mr. Munro, who was small and hairy creature from a bog in Norway.

Ottoline’s mum and dad, “Ma and Pa”, found Mr. Munro and took him home to look after Ottoline when they went exploring, which started when Ottoline was a baby.

Ottoline’s life is full of mystery and exciting adventures, so she grows up to be a child detective and is very good at solving problems.

In this book she helps find missing dogs, who have been stolen in very odd circumstances.

I like this book because I really like cartoons and adventures and this book gives you not just that, but it makes you laugh.

I liked the villain because she is a proper baddie.

I loved the illustrations, which were interesting to look at and helped me to understand the story and imagine what the characters might actually look like.

It’s funny, full of curiosity and is one of the best books I’ve ever read.

It teaches you – never let your dog out of your sight!

I mark it out of 5 a 5.

I recommend it for all ages.

Mark out of 5…

5 – Excellent

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *